New PLSA Chairs elected

The Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association (PLSA) has announced that new chairs for its Defined Benefit (DB) and Defined Contribution (DC) Councils have been elected.

Chris Hogg (Chief Executive of Royal Mail Pensions Trustees) will replace Frank Johnson (Non-Executive Director) as Chair of the DB Council and Carol Young (Head of Pensions, Policy and Products at Royal Bank of Scotland) will replace Richard Butcher (Managing Director of PTL) as DC Council Chair.

The Councils are responsible for representing the wider interests of the organisations 1,300 fund members and 400 business members as well as helping the PLSA to develop policy positions on relevant topics.  The new chairs will take up office from 20 October 2017 at the PLSA’s Annual Conference and Exhibition.

Chris Hogg (New Chair of the DB Council) said: “DB pension schemes have over £1.5 trillion worth of assets under management and provide millions of people with a secure income in retirement.  I am therefore extremely pleased to be appointed to chair the PLSA’s DB Council and to help shape the policy work that the organisation undertakes on behalf of these funds.  I look forward to engaging with members and representing their views going forward.”

Carol Young (New Chair of the DC Council) commented: “The PLSA undertakes a huge amount of valuable advocacy work for the pensions industry and I am delighted to have been appointed to chair the DC Council.  At a time when increasing numbers of people are looking to automatic enrolment to provide them with a better standard of living in retirement, it is vital that we continue to work to create an environment where this is not only possible but encouraged.  I look forward to working with the wider PLSA membership to help achieve this.”